My Invisible Friend

The two things I cherish most in life are my family and friends. They are without doubt the most supportive, caring, loving and amazing group of people or to translate to the more refined Tipperary dialect ‘they’re a sound aul bunch’. However there’s one friend, or maybe you would describe this person as an enemy, who has been causing me a bit of bother. We’ve been fighting now for quite a while. 22 years in fact, but no matter how hard I try I can’t seem to get away from him. I’ve tried running from him, hiding from him and he has provided me with more drama than an episode of Love/Hate. He has caused me pain, upset and anguish and I resent him for it. However this friend has also been my driving force, the fire in my belly and the determination that no matter what I can overcome any obstacle. He helps me appreciate the small things and never take anything for granted. It was also this friend that motivated me to put myself forward for the 100 minds challenge to raise €1,000 for Temple St. Cystic Fibrosis is both a companion and my enemy. Cystic Fibrosis is my invisible friend.

Up until today only a select few people will ever have heard me mention my condition. I don’t like to use CF (cystic fibrosis) as an excuse or have people pity me for having this disease. I’m no different to any other 22 year old, yes I may have extra medication, treatments and hospital appointments but essentially apart from a small fault in my DNA which means myself and CF shall be together till death do us part, I’m the same as any other person my age. Cystic Fibrosis provides me with my characteristic, deep, chesty ‘tractor engine’ cough and my small stature (yes I promise I’m not a midget). However apart from this, no one would really notice CF so therefore while it may always be with me, it can be pretty inconspicuous. This can be both a blessing and a curse. CF allows me to hold a disability pass on public transport but it can’t prevent the disapproving looks from ticket inspectors who suspect me of lying because outwardly I don’t look that different to any one else. If I had a penny for every person who told me ‘sure there’s nothing wrong with you’, I’d be quite wealthy at this stage. While CF lets me eat wagon loads of sweets, chocolate and cereal with relatively little weight gain, it also forces me to be admitted to hospital more often than I would like.

Temple Street was where I had my first hospital admission. It happened somewhat out of the blue. Having been relatively well as a child and not having to be admitted to hospital for IV antibiotics, I had never known what being an in-patient entailed. It was Summer 2005, I was 14 and on holidays in Dublin staying with friends when I woke up in the middle of the night with a sharp persistent pain in my side. There then followed a mad dash to the Accident and Emergency in Temple St where I found I couldn’t breathe.

I can still remember how terrified I was in there. The fear that some scary doctor was going to hurt me further in this strange environment where I was surrounded by noisy machines, very sick children and their families. I cannot express how amazing the nurses and doctors in Temple Street are. For those of you who haven’t been there, the hospital is pretty much like a large house. The ward I was staying on was a room which contained 3 tiny beds, high ceilings with cornices and wooden flooring. How these professionals can do this life saving work in such a small, cramped and out dated conditions is truly miraculous. My time there is a bit of a blur but I will never forget the kindness and care they showed me there. Afterwards I was transferred to Limerick to my wonderful CF Team where I made a full recovery from a nasty pneumonia, but that story is for another day.

CF and I could be described almost as connoisseurs of hospitals. We’ve spent many a long boring day in many different hospitals. We know the workings and the politics of the place. Be nice to the lunch ladies if you want extra food. Always thank the cleaning ladies, they keep those nasty hospital infections at bay. Nurses know more than most doctors about how to care for you and the radiographers are simply the soundest and most vital part of the hospital chain (here I may be being slightly biased). 100 minds have allocated all monies raised during our time fundraising down to the last penny. This includes €5,000 to improve and upgrade the hospital environment, €5,000 to purchase new toys and game consoles for the children, €4,000 for new physiotherapy equipment and so much more. This would have made my hospital stay a lot easier and will make a huge difference to all the current and future in patients in Temple St.

Myself and CF have had our ups and downs. From the embarrassment of being asked ‘What’s wrong with you, why are you coughing like that?’ to clearing up whether I had scoliosis or cystic fibrosis to being laughed at in the library for an hour last week by two charming boys because I was coughing. However these little hiccups can never out weigh the appreciation CF has given me for the small things in life. I am closer to my family and friends than most people and as a result I know who I can count on in times of crisis. Through my experiences I hope I can help others and turn what so easily could become a negative aspect of my everyday into a positive.

So even if its just €1 you spend donating to Temple St right now or its the decision to attend a 100 minds event, please do it! You will make one tractor coughing midget girl and her invisible friend very happy to know we have made a difference to the lives of Temple Street’s staff, inpatients and their families.

https://people.100minds.org/109

2 thoughts on “My Invisible Friend

  1. Hey GrÁ. Rosy here … managed to get the fadda in your name … but big “A” is typo that won’t go away! I’m not going to really say much … because you know me a long time … and you know I get it! I really loved reading this, thank you. I wish you and “your friend” every success with it. (As does the big woman!). Talk soon.

Leave a comment